Glanmire Parish, County Cork, Ireland - part of the Catholic Diocese of Cork and Ross.

Parish Assembly meeting

November 25, 2019

The Parish Assembly is a group of parishioners who assist with the running and development of Glanmire parish. A new assembly is formed every 3 years. All parishioners are asked for nominations for the Parish Assembly; this nomination can be oneself or another parishioner. Nominees are invited to join the Parish Assembly.  The current assembly was formed in 2019. The chairman of the Parish Assembly is Loughlin Ryan, vice-chair is Rosaleen Murphy with Catherine McGovern as secretary. The full membership is  Attracta Burns, Niamh Buckeridge, Mirinda O’ Keeffe, Helen Harrington,  Ger Hayes, Maria O’Keeffe and Kathleen Twomey.  As priests of the parish, Fr. John Newman and Fr. Pat Nugent are automatically members of the Parish Assembly.

The Parish Assembly meets every month.

At the most recent meeting, we reviewed the blessing of the graves in November.

We discussed the annual mass for the Bereaved which is scheduled for 13th November.

The next group meeting will be with Ministers of Eucharist and this will happen before the next meeting.

We discussed the annual Toy mass and the Parish Assembly’s role in supporting the Junior Choir.

We discussed the Advent and Christmas seasons. Advent is an important time and it was agreed we need to make more of a ceremony around the Advent wreath and the lighting of each candle. The ecumenical carol service will be held in St Mary’s and all Saints this year on Dec 15th at 7:30pm. The masses for Christmas eve will be same as last year and the masses for Christmas Day will be as Sunday.



Share post  Facebooktwittermail
Follow us     FacebooktwitterinstagramInformation, News