Priest on duty    085 7830717                                                                                  Parish Office 021 4820654

Mass Times     Donate                                                                                                                                                               Noticeboard

The Rosary

The Rosary
The four main divisions (known as Mysteries) of the Rosary are as follows:

The Joyful Mysteries (said on Mondays & Saturdays)
* The Annunciation
* The Visitation
* The Birth of Our Lord
* The Presentation of the Child Jesus in the Temple
* The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple

The Sorrowful Mysteries (said on Tuesdays & Fridays)
* The Agony in the Garden
* The Scourging at the Pillar
* The Crowning with Thorns
* The Carrying of the Cross to Calvary
* The Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord

The Glorious Mysteries (said on Wednesdays & Saturdays)
* The Resurrection
* The Ascension into Heaven
* The Descent of the Holy Spirit
* The Assumption of Our Lady into Heaven
* The Crowning of Our Lady as Queen of Heaven

The Mysteries of Light (said on Thursdays)
* The Baptism in the Jordan
* The Wedding at Cana
* The Proclamation of the Kingdom
* The Transfiguration
* The Institution of the Eucharist

The Rosary begins with the Opening Responsory (V/ O God open my lips. R/ And my mouth shall declare your praise.) This is followed by the recitation of the Apostle’s Creed. Next comes one ‘Our Father,’ three ‘Hail Marys’ and one ‘Glory Be to the Father.’ After this are followed the five decades which consist of one ‘Our Father,’ ten ‘Hail Marys’ and one ‘Glory Be to the Father’ in each decade. Many Catholics pray the Rosary using a set of beads strung together to form a Rosary. The Rosary concludes with the ‘Hail Holy Queen.’

Pope John Paul II’s apostolic letter on The Rosary – click here