Glanmire Parish, County Cork, Ireland - part of the Catholic Diocese of Cork and Ross.

Parish Assembly

Mission statement for parish assembly

Glanmire Parish Assembly promotes the Catholic faith in the parish.  It recognises the challenge of changing times and aims to provide a structure for priests and people to work together for the enrichment of parish life.  It aims to identify the talents within the community and inspire and empower others to become involved in all aspects of parish life.


We are a people of light:
“You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid. No one after lighting
a lamp puts it under the bushel basket, but on the lamp stand, and it gives light to all in
the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your
good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.” (Mt 5:14-16)

What is a parish assembly?

The parish assembly is a leadership group through which priests and people work together as partners in furthering the mission of Christ in their own place. It does so through building up a vibrant Christian community that is rooted in baptism and marked by its faith, worship and service. To fulfill its role the assembly needs to be a representative body in which the diversity of the parish community is reflected. To take on the task of the assembly, members need to be baptized Catholics who participate in the life and worship of the parish, who have a loving concern for the parish and are willing to be part of a parish leadership group.

While the members of the assembly need to be committed Catholics their mission is to reach out to people who do not share that love of Christ and his Church for whatever reason.

The Glanmire Parish Assembly is a body of people; priests and parishioners, who have accepted their nomination by their peers, to lead and support the development of the parish as a faith community.Members are nominated for a three-year term (the priests of the parish are members by virtue of their office).

At the start of each three year term, the group spends time reflecting on the parish and its needs, and preparing a plan of development for the parish. We call this the Formation Programme.

Members of the parish assembly beginning 2016 are as follows:

Peter Falvey (Chair)

Tim Murphy (Vice chair)

Claire Gibson (Secretary)

Doris Murphy (Delegate to Pastoral Area meetings)

Loughlin Ryan (Delegate to Pastoral Area meetings)

Niamh Buckeridge

Linda Cashman

Carmel Cleary

Helen Harrington

Rachel Kelleher

Billy Meaney

Catherine McGovern

Catherine McPhillips

Maria O’Keeffe

Kathleen Twomey

Fr John Newman

Fr Anthony Buckley


Parish Newsletter

This weeks newsletter –> 17th September 2017 Last weeks newsletter –> 10th September 2017 Previous editions –>  Archived Newsletters     Share...

Archived Newsletters

Previous Parish Newsletters 3rd September 2017 27th August 2017 20th August 2017 13th August 2017 6th August 2017 30th...

World Meeting of Families 2018

Message relating to World Meeting Of Families in Ireland read at all Masses in Glanmire 9-10 Sept 2017 Good...

Parish Assembly meeting

The Parish Assembly is a group of parishioners who assist with the running and development of Glanmire parish. A...

Clerical Appointments in the Diocese of Cork & Ross

Bishop John Buckley has announced the following clerical changes in the Diocese of Cork and Ross effective from the 1st...

Feast of the Assumption, Tuesday 15th August 2017

The feast day of the Assumption of Mary celebrates our belief that God assumed the Virgin Mary into Heaven following her death It...

GLANMIRE PARISH 30th July 2017

GLANMIRE PARISH 30th July 2017 17th Sunday in Ordinary Time St Joseph’s Church St Michael’s Church Mon – Fri...

Mass Newsletter Sun 9th July 2017

Mass Newsletter Sun 9th July 2017: GLANMIRE PARISH 9th July 2017 14th Sunday in Ordinary Time St Joseph’s Church...

Remembrance Mass – Rathcooney Cemetery, Tuesday 4th July 2017

On Tuesday, 4th July 2017, the annual remembrance mass was celebrated at Rathcooney Cemetery by Fr. John Newman. The...

Glanmire Parish Assembly – one year in.

The Parish Assembly is a group of parishioners who assist with the running and development of Glanmire parish. A...